CRFFN Governing Council Elections: Transport Ministry Constitutes Electoral Committee

CRFFN Governing Council Elections: Transport Ministry Constitutes Electoral Committee
Minister of Transportation, Hon. Rotimi Amaechi
  • APFFLON commends Amaechi for opening individual participation

Following the expiration of the two year tenure of the Governing Board of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), the Minister of Transportation, Hon. Rotimi Amaechi has constituted an electoral committee to conduct the election into the Governing Board of the Council.

This is in line with the powers conferred on him by Section 2 (1) (f) of the CRFFN Act 2007.

According to a Public Notice issued in Abuja on Thursday by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, A.D. Suleiman, the Act Provides that an elected or appointed member of the Governing Council shall hold office for a period of two (2) years beginning from the date of the election or appointment as applicable.

The notice recalled that Section 2(1) (g) of the enabling Act states that five persons to be elected from amongst registered freight forwarders operating in each of the following zones: Western Ports – 5, Eastern Ports – 5, Cargo Airports/Land Borders – 5.

It went on to inform all eligible registered freight forwarders that the Electoral Committee would commence the election process as contained in the timetable as follows:

Nomination Form: 6th –17th September, 2021; Collection and submission of completed nomination forms shall be within ten (10) days from 10am to 4pm daily in the following locations: Lagos – Council for Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) No. 1 Joseph Harden Street, Marina, Lagos (contact Mrs. ogwuche-Obe Ene Helen – staff of the Ministry, Phone – 08033071392).

Abuja – Federal Ministry of Transportation, Maritime Services Department, 4th Floor, Central Business Area, Abuja (contact: Solomon Zaks, 3rd Floor, Phone – 08035891726).

Port-Harcourt – Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) office, Behind Wesham Filling Station, Camp Roundabout, Onne/Eleme Road, Onne, Port-Harcourt, Rivers State (contact: Mrs. Nwosu J. Uchechi – Staff of the Ministry, Phone – 08060621320).

The notice further stated that screening of candidates will hold in Lagos 21st – 22nd September, 2021 while that of Abuja will hold on the 24th September, 2021 from 10am t0 4pm daily. According to the notice, screening of candidates from the Western and Eastern ports will hold at the Rock View Hotels, Apapa on 21st and 22nd of September, 2021 from 10am to 4pm daily while screening of candidates from cargo airports/ land borders will hold at the Federal Ministry of Transportation Conference Room, 8th Floor, Abuja on Friday 24th September, 2021 from 10am to 4pm.

While accreditation of candidates holds on 7th to 8th October, 2021 in Abuja, the display of contestants’ list will be on the 8th October, 2021 at the venue of the election, CRFFN office Abuja and Federal Ministry of Transportation office Abuja respectively.

The election, according to the notice, is scheduled to hold on the 9th October, 2021 at the National Women Centre, opposite CBN Headquarters, Abuja.

It went on to state that the deadline on receipt of complaints arising from the election is scheduled to hold on Monday 11th October, 2021 while decision on all complaints received will be on Tuesday 12th October, 2021.

The notice advised all interested freight forwarders registered with the CRFFN to pay a non-refundable fee of five hundred thousand Naira (N500,000) for the nomination form into the CRFFN number and nomination form will be issued on presentation of receipt of payment at the designated points of the two operational zones of the Council and the Federal Ministry of Transportation as indicated above.

Following this development, African Association of Professional Freight Forwarders and Logistics in Nigeria (APFFLON) has commended the Transport Ministry for opening the election to individual members that are registered with CRFFN.

Speaking with our correspondent, APFFLON’s National President, Mr. Frank Ogunojemite said the new arrangement is in line with the CRFFN Act which recognizes individuals and associations.

He expressed optimism that freight forwarding veterans who have decided not to identify with any association could participate and emerge as one of the Council members in the new arrangement.

Ogunojemite also seized the opportunity to call on a former President of Association of Nigeria Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Prince Olayiwola Shittu and former President of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF), Chief Eugene Nweke to come out for the polls.

According to him, the freight forwarding sector is in dire need of the expertise of the two veterans and others who have observed the activities of CRFFN from a distance in the last few years.

Check Also

Customs Detains Officer In Viral Video, Says He Needs Medical Evaluation

PTML Customs Generates N234Bn Exceeds  Previous  Year’s Revenue  By N20.9b

The Port Terminal Multi-services Limited (PTML) Command of Nigeria Customs Service(NCS) has collected a total …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× Get News Alert