PDP wins Delta House of Assembly by-election

PDP wins Delta House of Assembly by-electionThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), yesterday, declared candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Jude Ogbimi, winner of Isoko North Constituency House of Assembly by-election, held on Saturday, April 10, 2021 in Delta State.

No fewer than 11 political parties contested the Assembly by-election following the death of former Majority Leader of the House, Tim Owhefere.

Returning Officer for the by-election, Prof. Christopher Onosemuode of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE), said Ogbimi scored 29,421 votes to emerge winner.

Onosemuode, who is the Dean, Postgraduate School of FUPRE, announced that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Emmanuel Tabuko, scored 2,543 votes to emerge second, while African Democratic Party (ADP) candidate, Agose Ogagaoghene, polled 66 votes to clinch third position

“I, Prof. Christopher Onosemuode, declare that Ogbimi of the PDP, having scored the highest number of valid votes, is hereby declared winner of the Isoko North Constituency by-election.

Reacting, Ogbimi expressed gratitude to God and the people of Isoko North for his election, saying: “We give glory to God for the victory and I thank Governor Ifeanyi Okowa for his support, especially in campaigning in the 13 wards of the council.

“As long as we are representing the people we will ensure that they get the best. Although, two years is a short time, that will not be an excuse not to put things in place. We will continue from where my predecessor stopped and ensure that the constituents get their due.”

Check Also

Senate unveils Tinubu’s ministerial list today

Senate President, Godswill Akpabio After 50 days in office, President Bola Tinubu has sent the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× Get News Alert