Home / NEWS LENS /  Jean Chiazor Emerges WIMA President

 Jean Chiazor Emerges WIMA President

 Jean Chiazor Emerges WIMA PresidentThe newly-elected President of Africa Women in Maritime (WIMA), Nigeria chapter, Barr. (Mrs.) Jean Chiazor-Anishere said on Wednesday, last week, that she would alleviate the hardship confronting women in the maritime industry.

Chiazor-Anishere said in Lagos on the sidelines of her election, that one of the objectives of the association was to promote collaboration between national, regional and international maritime organizations.

Chiazor-Anishere is a former President of Women In Shipping and Trading Association (WISTA Nigeria) and presently the Vice President of African Women in Maritime.

According to her, the association will ensure advancement of gender equality in the maritime sector and support mainstream women participation in all aspects of “Blue Economy”

She said that focus would also be on “policy, advocacy and maritime awareness”.

“WIMA will promote human capacity development, enterprise development and employment of women in all aspects maritime sector. The association will ensure strategic leadership and serves as a voice for gender empowerment in the maritime sector.

She stated that she would ensure the association supports the advancement of women in the maritime sector in Africa.

“The newly-elected executives will strengthen the maritime capacity in the continent in order to promote a safe, secured and efficient cleaner ocean,” Chiazor-Anishere said.

She noted that the association had a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Africa Union in order to bring issues affecting the maritime industry to heads of state of countries.

She said that the association would make sure that the constitutions of various countries are reviewed to accommodate issues affecting the maritime industry.

Mrs.  Bola Muse was elected as the Vice President; Mrs Mary Madu-Hamman, Secretary; Mrs. Foluke Akinmoladun, Assistant Secretary; and Mrs. Affi Ibanga as Treasurer.

Other elected officers are: Mrs. Taiwo Osun, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. Carolyn Akum-Ufere as Publicity Secretary; and Mrs. Justina Mamedu was elected as the Assistant Publicity Secretary.

Three officers were nominated as officers in the Office of the National Coordinator.  They are: Mrs. Gloria Kanabe, Mrs. Funmi Folorunsho and Mrs. Oritsematosan Emore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


× Get News Alert