ANLCA Western Chapter Elect New Excecutives

ANLCA Western Chapter Elect New Excecutives
Newly Elected Excecutives, ANLCA, Western Chapter

The Western Chapter of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) yesterday elected new executives into the Apapa, Seme, PTML, Muritala Mohammed Airport (MMA) and Kirikiri Light Terminal (KLT) chapters.

The newly elected chairmen are Nze Aloy Igwe (MMA chapter), Elder Samuel Oluwole (PTML chapter), Bisiriyu Lasisi Fanu (SEME chapter) and Olumide Fakonu (Apapa chapter), while the new vice chairmen are Gbangbala Adewusi (MMA chapter), Alhaji Kabiru Abdullahi (SEME chapter), Chief Don Onyeka (Apapa chapter).

Although the election is said to be the most peaceful in the history of ANLCA, it took a frightening twist when Alhaji Lamid Aliu, a disqualified candidate for the position of Chairman of PTML chapter, stormed the scene of the election to protest that his disqualification was manipulated.

Lamid rushed to the observers tent where the National President, Olayiwola Shittu and other national executives sat to demonstrate his frustration as he was disqualified a day before the elections. However, he declined giving the press his side of the story.

Speaking to journalists on the issue, the chairman of the electoral commission revealed that the disqualification of the candidate was for legitimate reasons contrary the candidate’s assertion.

“Our aseco guideline stipulates that one must have been a director of a corporate company for five years prior to the day of screening. We confirm this by verifying from the Corporate Affairs Commission to know when the company was registered and we go to the Customs to know when the company became a licensed. Lamid was disqualified because he failed to meet the five years of directorship with a special provision which states that one ought to be a director with the minimum of 10% stake in the said company. Lamid Aliu got his 10% shares of the company in February 2013, although he had been a director for over five years the provision is that one must have being a director with 10% shares for five years”, he explained.

He also confirmed that the elections were the most peaceful in the history of the association and he attributed the hitch-free elections to the focus, transparency and honesty displayed by the electoral commission as well as the candidates and their agents.

The new executives at various chapters are; MMA Chapter, Chairman- Nze Aloy Igwe, Vice Chairman- Gbangbala Adewusi, Financial Secretary- Obanla Saheed, Secretary- Sylvester Iyamu, Treasurer- Abdul Azeez Afolabi, Publicity Secretary- Basil Agbara and Assistant Secretary- Nwande Sunday.

SEME Chapter; Chairman- Bisiriyu Lasisi Fanu, Vice Chairman- Alhaji Kabiru Abdullahi, Treasurer- Abioye Wasiu Toyin, Financial Secretary- Okunla  Akeem Taiwo; PTML Chapter, Chairman- Elder Samuel Oluwole, Financial Secretary- Ademola Omoniyi, Secretary- Babatunde Adekoya, Treasurer- Fredrick Akintunde and Assistant Secretary- Chief Donatus Agbim.

APAPA Chapter; Chairman- Olumide Fakonu,Vice Chairman- Chief Don Onyeka, Secreatary- Obiejese Frank, Financial Secretary- Awonuga Olatunde, Treasurer- Haija Bola Wuse, Publicity Secretary- Emeka Chukwuma and Assistant Secretary- Emmanuel Okoli

KLT Chapter; Treasurer- Comrade Goddy Sholeje Shewa

By Kenneth Jukpor

Check Also

CILT Tasks FG To Streamline Rail, Road Infrastructure Management

CILT Tasks FG To Streamline Rail, Road Infrastructure Management

    The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport of Nigeria (CILTN) has called on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× Get News Alert